Seimas Barricades 1992 | 2012

When I was trying to figure out where I should enter the Seimas building last week, I went around the side by the river — which I have never done.  When I came around the corner, I discovered a memorial to January 1991, when Soviet troops tried to take control of the Vilnius television tower and also advanced on the Seimas building.  Lithuanians built barricades around the Seimas to protect the newly-democratic parliament.  My first trip to independent Lithuania was in July 1992, when I attended a one-month language course.  The barricades were still up around the parliament building because former Soviet troops were still on Lithuanian territory.  I attended a demonstration in front of the barricades demanding the withdrawal of the troops (which were under Russian control at that point).  Seeing the barricades brought back a rush of memories from 1992 and those early years of independence.

Barricades memorial at the Lithuanian Seimas building, Vilnius

“Freedom for Lithuania” on the barricades

About amanda

historian, traveler, blogger View all posts by amanda

One response to “Seimas Barricades 1992 | 2012

  • Pastor Jim & Diane Wagner

    My wife and I are moving to Vilnius in late August, 2013 to serve the International congregation. I noticed earlier that you had worshipped there and we would love to have a conversation with you about the congregation and life in Vilnius.

    We will be retiring from our ministry in the Lutheran Church in June and hope to serve ICV for 2-4 years, being their first permanent clergy for quite some time.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

